Staff & Governors

Headmaster, Peter Jones, is supported in managing Littlegarth School by a Board of Governors, a Senior Management Team and experienced form teachers and specialised subject teachers, each qualified to meet the needs of the specified age ranges. Our team has helped to maintain Littlegarth as one of Essex and Suffolk’s leading independent schools.

Mr Jones is assisted by Deputy Head, Lynda Turner, Assistant Head (Prep), Keith Dawes, Head of Pre-Prep, Helen Smith and Head of EYFS, Maire-Claire Elmakahleh.

The Chair of Governors is Mr James Henderson who can be contacted via the school.

CHAIRMAN – Mr J Henderson, PHD, MA (Oxon)


Mr D Burden, CB CVO CBE

Ms C Clouston, MA (Hons), PGCE

Mr A Maheshwar, FRCS (ORL-HNS), DLO, MBBS

Mr M McKaughan, BEd, Dip T, Dip TG

Mrs M McKenna, MA (Oxon), MBA, FCMA

Mrs M Oats


Mrs D Stanton, Grad Dip Phys, MCSP, SOM, BAHT

Mrs WF Thompson, BEd (Hons), Cambridge

Click here to find out more about the Governing Body.



Headmaster – Mr Peter H Jones BEd (Hons)
Deputy Head – Mrs Lynda Turner BA (Hons), PGCE
Assistant Head Prep, Year VI Form Master, Head of Boys’ Games – Mr Keith Dawes BA (Hons), QTS
Head of Pre-Prep, Year I Form Mistress – Miss Helen Smith BA (Hons), QTS
Head of EYFS, Reception Form Mistress – Mrs M-C Elmakahleh BA (Hons), QTS
Year VI Form Mistress, Head of English – Mrs Heather Shropshire BA (Hons), PGCE
Year V Form Master, Head of Maths – Mr Nathan Crame BSc(Hons), PGCE
Year V Form Mistress, Head of Learning Support – Mrs Jane Rogers BA Hornsby Dyslexia Dip
Year IV Form Mistress, Head of PE & Girls’ Games – Mrs Sarah Atherton BEd (Hons)
Year IV Form Mistress, Head of Music – Mrs Jane Pashby BA (Hons), Ad PG Dip (RCM)
Year III Form Master, Head of Computing – Mr Steven Thomas BA (Hons), PGCE
Year III Form Mistress – Mrs Elena Roberts BA (Hons), QTS
Year II Form Mistress – Miss Laura Cook BA (Hons), PGCE, Level 3 in Outdoor Education
Year II Form Mistress – Mrs Sharon Crouch BA (Hons), PGCE
Year ll Form Mistress – Mrs Louise Crocombe BSc (Hons), QTS
Year I Form Mistress – Mrs Jennifer Watson Cert Ed, LTCL, Level 3 in Outdoor Education
Reception Form Mistress – Miss Deborah Mansell BA (Hons) Primary Education, ITT
Head of Science – Mr Peter Adams BSc, PGCE
Geography, RE & PE – Mrs Zoe McBeth BA (Hons), QTS
Computing & Geography – Mr Steven Pashby BMus, QTS (RCM)
Head of Art & Design Technology – Mrs Rosemary Bailey BEd (Hons)
IT Manager & Data Protection Officer – Mr Daniel Fountain
Head of Music – Mrs Jane Pashby BA (Hons), Ad PG Dip (RCM)
Drama – Mrs Sally Fisher BA (Hons), PGCE, AISTD
Head of Modern Foreign Languages – Miss Niamh Ging BA (Hons), PGCE
French – Mrs Catherine Johns BA (Hons), PGCE
Trainee Teacher – Mr Matthew Halsey BSc (Hons)


Head of EYFS – Mrs M-C Elmakahleh BA (Hons), QTS

Upper Nursery

Mrs Rachel Clark, BA in Early Years, Cache Diploma, FDA

Miss Aimee Perry, NNEB Cache level 3

Mrs Jenny Watt, Diploma Pre-School Practice

Lower Nursery

Mrs Naomi Henry, Btech Level 3 Diploma in Childhood Studies

Miss Linda Nice, NNEB

Mrs Ione Toleman, BA (Hons), Cache Level 3 Diploma


Mrs Margaret Brooks, NVQ 2 Teaching Assistant
Mrs Lorraine Coombes, Level 3 Diploma in Specialist Support for Teaching and Learning in Schools
Mr Matthew Halsey, BSc (Hons)
Mrs Claire Jones, Hornsby Diploma (Specific Learning Difficulties and Dyslexia)
Mrs Nikki Loizides
Mrs Beverly Marangou, NVQ 2 Teaching Assistant
Miss Holly McNamara, NVQ 2 Teaching Assistant

LEARNING SUPPORT                    

Head of Learning Support – Mrs Jane Rogers, BA, Hornsby Dyslexia Dip
Miss Alison Chapman, BA (Hons), PGCE
Mrs Claire Jones, Hornsby Diploma (Specific Learning Difficulties and Dyslexia)
Mrs Pauline Stockwell, BA (Hons), OCR Level 5 Teaching Children with Specific Learning Difficulties

EYFS SENCO – Miss Helen Smith, BA (Hons), QTS


SPEECH & DRAMA – Mrs Tracey O’Donnell, BEd (Hons), Dip DramED

MUSIC DEPARTMENT                    

Head of Music – Mrs Jane Pashby BA (Hons), Ad PG Dip (RCM)
Music Administrator & Drums – Mr Steven Pashby BMus, QTS (RCM)
Piano, Voice – Ms Miranda Cook BA (Hons)
Trumpet – Mr Joel Cooper BMus (Hons)
Piano, Strings – Mr Greg Eaton BA Hons (Music)
Guitar – Mr Adrian Johnson BA (Hons)
Piano, Voice – Ms Amy Secretan BMus (Hons), Dip ABRSM
Drums – Mr Steven Timms BA (Hons)
Piano – Mr Antony Watson BA Arts (Music)
Cello – Mrs Gabbie Watson (To follow)
Woodwind – Mrs Kathryn Urand

BALLET – Mrs Tamsin Mann, ARAD, RAD RTS


Headmaster’s Secretary and Registrar – Mrs Carolyne Morey

School Secretary – Mrs Penny Toleman & Ms Katherine Humphreys

Bursar – Miss Jane Ward, MA (Cantab), FCCA, DChA

Bursar’s Assistant – Mrs Toni Saunders, Mrs Caroline Saville

Librarian – Mrs Sarah Jasinski

Site Management – Mr Lyndon Bowman, Mr Mark Crisell

Catering – Mr Mervyn Roberts (Manager), Mrs Louise Sage, Mrs Nicola Beckwith, Mrs Jackie Bugg, Mrs Joanne Burton, Mrs Charlotte Hayes, Mrs Denise Carter

Cleaners – Mrs Jane Asensio, Mrs Caroline Carter, Mrs Dawn Chapman, Mr Vernon Hearn

School Shop – Mrs Alison Jay, Mrs Amanda Clarke